Creating Space

I love yoga so much.

Yoga creates space. You do it on a little mat, not much longer or wider than your body but you stretch, reach, and pretzel your limbs into all kinds of shapes. In yoga you lengthen the breath and calm the mind. Spacious.

mat

Right now my house feels small to me. I do not live in a tiny house, and I am aware that in most of the world my house is gigantic.

So why does my 71 inch yoga mat feel like all the space I need, while my 3 bedroom, 2 bath, 2450 square foot house feels too small?

This is my home office

This is my home office.

My “office” is in my bedroom, and all of my work materials have to fit into this desk. I try to keep the clutter to a minimum and be super-organized, but that doesn’t always work. I crave a big office with a big desk and plenty of space for bookshelves and filing cabinets.

So we looked at some houses with more rooms (and a bigger mortgage). Where we live a lot of the bigger, newer houses have no yards or outside space. The houses are right next to each other and fill almost the entire plot of land.

our backyard

Our Backyard

Also it’s summer. Summer=space. Moving would take up so much time and be such a pain. I sound lazy, and I suppose I am.

So I just need to create space where I am. Unclutter my life. Focus on what is most important.

My 13 year-old daughter was cleaning her room (alert the media!) and said, “I used to be afraid to get rid of things.” I found her use of the word afraid interesting. Isn’t it fear that causes us to hold onto things?

What can I let go of in order to create more space?

 

This entry was posted in Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creating Space

  1. Penny says:

    Very insightful. I think of “getting rid of stuff” as physical stuff to shed, but there is so much more I can “let go of”….or am I afraid?

  2. Pingback: Letting Go. Part 2 | Effort & Ease

Leave a Reply

